This article illustrates how to record a call or meeting.
Note: this feature is available on both desktop and mobile for V3.8 or later, and on iPad for V3.19 or later.
Any call or meeting can be recorded. Audio, video of the active speaker(s), and screen sharing activity will be recorded and saved as an MP4 file.
1. Record a call
In a call, either participant can record the call by clicking Start recording. The other participant will receive a prompt asking for their approval (only the first time). If they approve, the recording will start.
2. Record a meeting
In a meeting, only the host can record, but participants can send requests to the host to start recording.
The host can click More > Start recording to begin recording. A notification will be sent to the host stating that recording is in progress, and that the recording file will be sent to them via Docs Assistant after the meeting ends.
Participants using a version older than V3.25 will receive a notification informing them that recording has started, and that staying in the meeting signifies their consent to being recorded.
Participants using V3.25 or later will receive a dialog. They can choose whether to stay in the meeting and be recorded, or leave the meeting.
Ask the host to record a meeting
In a meeting, participants can click Ask host to record to send the host a request to record the meeting. If the host approves the request, the recording will start, and all participants will be notified. If the host declines the request, the person who sent the request will receive a notification.
Once the recording starts, all participants will see REC on their call or meeting interface to signify that recording is in progress.
3. Stop recording
If the host clicks Stop recording, a confirmation prompt will appear. Once confirmed, the recording stops. All participants will be notified when the recording stops.
- •For meetings, only the host will receive the recording file.
- •For calls, both of the participants will receive the recording file.
4. Access the recording file
What the file includes
The recording file includes audio, video of the active speaker(s), and screen sharing activity. It is saved as an MP4 file.
Where the file is stored
In the same call or meeting, no matter how many times recording starts and stops, only one recording file is generated. The file is stored to the host's Docs, and the host is the file's default owner.
Note: Every time the length of a recording exceeds 4 hours, a second file is generated. For instance, a meeting that lasts 9 hours will generate 3 recording files (two 4-hour files and a 1-hour file).
How to access the file
After the recording stops, the host will receive a notification from Docs Assistant. The notification contains the meeting topic, the date, and the link to the recording file.
The host can click on the link to access the file or download the file for later. Accelerated playback is supported when viewing the file online. Participants need to contact the host if they would like to access the recording file.
Q: What happens if the person who starts recording a meeting is no longer the host?
A: All recording permissions will be transferred to the new host. The recording file will still be stored to the Docs of the person who first started recording.
Q: Are audio and video recorded as two separate files?
A: In the same meeting, no matter how many times recording starts and stops, only one recording file that includes both audio, video, and screen sharing activity is generated.
Q: If I record a call, will I receive the recording file?
A: When a call is recorded, both participants will receive the recording file.