By reading this article, you will learn how to use the historical version feature in Sheets.
Sheets provides a historical version feature to allow you easily access historical versions of a sheet and see how it has been edited. When content is modified, the system automatically retains a historical version and records the modifier, modification time, and modification details. When necessary, you can restore a sheet to any previous version with a single click. To ensure the security of the data in your sheets, only users with editing permission can view and restore historical versions.
How to view version history?
- 1.Open the version history list: In the navigation bar at the top of the Sheets interface, click ... in the upper-right corner then click Version history. You will see all previous versions are listed in reverse chronological order, along with modifiers and modification time.
- 2.View a complete historical version: In the version history list, click on a version for which you want to view detailed information to see the full content of the Sheet at the selected time point.
Note: The system adds a blue background to cells that have changed since the previous version. Hover over a blue cell to see the editor who performed the operation.
- 3.Expand groups of historical versions: The system automatically groups historical versions in the list by editing time. Click the icon to expand the corresponding group and see a more detailed version list.
- 4.Close: Click the X icon in the upper-right corner of the list or click Back to Editing in the upper-left corner of the historical version interface to close the version history list.
How to restore a previous version?
- 1.In the version history list, click on the historical version you want to restore.
- 2.In the historical version interface on the left side of the screen, confirm that this is the version you want to restore.
- 3.Click Restore This Version at the top of the screen to restore the sheet to the selected historical version.
Q: Who can see historical versions?
A: To ensure the security of confidential information, only users with edit permission (including the sheet owner) can view and restore historical versions.
Q: Why are some sheets missing the Version History option?
A: Only users with editing permission can view and restore historical versions. Therefore, users who only have read permission for a sheet will not see the Version history option in the menu.
Q: After a historical version is restored, can deleted content be recovered?
A: First, make sure you have selected the correct historical version before restoring it. If you restore a historical version with a description like “Deleted...”, this version has deleted content from a previous version, so this content will not exist in the restored version. To recover the deleted content, restore a previous version from before the content was deleted.